Friday, August 31, 2007

Javanese Dances

Thursday, August 16, 2007


Indonesia is an archipelago with seven main, big islands, i.e. Sumatra, Jawa, Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Maluku, the East Nusa Tenggara and Papua on top of thousands small ones. The whole of this geographical entity of Indonesia is also called Nusantara, stretching from Sabang island on the far end of the West to Merauke city, the far end of the East on the tip of Papua island.
With all these islands counting for about 17,000, Indonesia is so diverse in ethnicity, language, arts and culture. Unfortunately, many of local arts and culture are going endangered. One of the causes is the increased foreign cultures exposure in Indonesia, both in the forms of printed and electronic media, something inevitable as technology advanced and urban developed rapidly.

Omah Joglo Foundation is very concerned about this situation.
In the latter, Indonesia was represented by the Mangkunegaraan Palace from Surakarta, Central Jawa, which was honoured to open the 2-month festival that run joined by 20 countries.

We, from Omah Joglo Foundation, also wish to wake the sense of unity in our nation, tying the artists from various ethnicities and together build the friendship among the nations in the world. This goes along with the Foundation’s mission as a platform to reflect on the rich Indonesian culture in enhancing our identities and preserving the local cultures.